One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

As medical facilities and healthcare procedures have improved, patients can receive immunisation and treatment for various diseases that were once deadly to us. As such, the average lifespan of individuals has increased. However, better healthcare also has some drawbacks. This essay agrees that the benefits of better healthcare outweigh the drawbacks. The essay will first demonstrate how increased life expectancy is advantageous and how the disadvantage of increased healthcare cost is not valid.

Healthcare procedures have become less intrusive and dangerous with fewer fatalities, thus allowing one to live a longer life as a result of new technologies involved. Research on drugs has also led to new vaccinations that immunise individuals from fatal diseases, therefore allowing one to live more healthily. With longer lifespans, people are able to enjoy life for a longer period of time and spend more time with their families. It also led to later retirement ages, allowing one to contribute more to the country’s economy. A study on Singaporeans by the Ministry of Health in 2017 revealed that life expectancy today is approximately 5 years longer than in 2007, with the retirement age set to increase to 65 years old in the years to come.

On the contrary, improved medical treatments have become more expensive as healthcare organisations such as Hospitals and specialist clinics need to remain profitable. However, as individuals are now healthier, the need to visit these places to receive treatment would become less frequent. Coupled with healthcare subsidies to its citizens by the government, the increase in price for every visit would not increase by much. For instance, a study by the American Health Organisation in 2018 found that Americans spend $7,000 less on average annually than in 2015. and also visited the clinics or hospitals fewer times.

In conclusion, while it is understandable that improved medical treatments will see an increase in price to ensure that profit is made, the drawbacks of it are minimised as people are healthier and do not require treatment as often. Meanwhile, an increase in life expectancy allows one to fulfil more things in life and spend the necessary time with their family, therefore the benefits of this development outweigh the drawbacks.