Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been an increase in the number of children who decide for themselves on everyday matters. It is often argued that it will lead to a society of selfish individuals, whereas others disagree and think that it is of great significance that the young should make decisions about matters that have an impact on them. This essay agrees that it is important for children to have the freedom make decisions and this essay will discuss both views.

Making decisions from a young age for one’s self is often linked to growing independence. When faced with important decisions from a young age, they are able to deal better with stress, and thus make bigger, more important decisions as they grow older. In a 2016 experiment by Oxford University, a series of dilemma questions where shown to children of ages between 12 to 15-year-olds. Half of the subjects had the freedom to made everyday choices on their own, while the other half depended on their parents to make decisions for them on a daily basis. Results observed by psychologists found that children who were given the freedom faced an average of 40% less stress than those who did not.

However, many disagree and feel that making choices on their own will lead to a selfish society in the future. While it is undeniable that some children will grow up and only think for themselves, psychologists from Stanford University, on the other hand, believe that by restricting a child’s freedom entirely, it limits their creativity and leads them to be fickle-minded. As such, they recommended that parents should give children some form of autonomy to prevent such problems from arising.

In conclusion, while making choices of their own is beneficial for them in the future, some still feel that we should be wary of giving children such freedom. However, given the right amount of freedom, the benefits are clearly positive.