Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary world, children disciplinary has been one of the most controversial matter, leading to the divergence of the opinion on whether giving them authority in making their own decisions on a daily basis or not. While a number of people believe that giving juvenile children freedom to choose on everyday matters results in their self-centered, I am inclined to the view that this liberty brings many desirable results.

On the one hand, there appear some drawbacks caused by children’s own choices on daily matters. Firstly, if the kid could achieve everything that yearning for, they may have a tendency to become increasingly self-important as well as indifferent to the surrounded people. Additionally, having the rights to choose freely matters in life without putting many efforts to take it into consideration leads children to be passive and dependent, hence causing a worsen habit in society. Furthermore, it is the age group that may possibly be influenced negatively from peer pressure, thus their choices could be bias and incorrect. For example, a kid may imitate his friend to register to a football club at school and quit it in a short period of time because it fails to meet his physical condition.

On the other hand, children have the liberty to make their own decisions on daily basis such as food, garments or recreational activities brings several benefits. In terms of shaping personality, it is making choices on the favorite that advocates kids be more and more self-confidence. It is a matter of fact that a kid pursuing their own passion would have the opportunities to broaden their mind and realize their strengths, accompanied by improving it day by day. Regarding social responsibility, as experiencing their selection in reality, children are likely to be better aware of their future decisions and think twice before undertaking another one. As a result, the possibility of them to become a good citizen and make helpful contribution to society is liable to higher, leading a positive outlook on the next generation.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned argument, giving children the freedom of choosing their everyday matters, albeit having a few disadvantages, the merits may overshadow. However, it is the liability of not only the young’s parents but also teachers as well as educational institutions to limit their alternatives and guide them to consult many reliable people before making any decisions.