Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that there are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary world, acquiring a second language becoming increasingly in people’s learning progress, leading to the divergence of opinion on the reasons of this studying. While a number of people believe that the only motives are going abroad or having a job in a foreign country, I am inclined to the view that there is a further aim for learning bilingually.

On the one hand, learning the second language opens for people several opportunities to travel overseas and having a well-paid job in other countries. Firstly, it is irrefutable that by being good at another language except for mother tongue, travelers are likely to become confident in having conversations and exchanging culture with the foreigners. For example, tourists who are a master of using English would travel in a wide variety of European countries and the USA where English is the most preferable languages with the authentic experience without any language barrier. Furthermore, having a second language becomes the necessary background to integrate into the global labor market. In addition, thanks to the sufficient comprehension of employees who understand bilingually from foreign employer’s requirements, there may be many job opportunities offered as a result.

On the other hand, apart from travel experience and business scope, learning a foreign language leads to many beneficial motives. First and foremost, studying a new language enhances generally people’s cognitive and analytical competency. A good illustration for this is science research proved that a person who is superior to language ability would have a tendency of improving logical thinking and also problem-solving skills. Additionally, people could learn a new language via exploring distinct culture and traditions, leading to widening their understanding of many new aspects of life. Secondly, in the old and age, with the rapid development of joint venture in many countries, multi languages are one of the strengths for candidates who would like to have a job in the international working environment. For example, in some developing countries such as Vietnam, there are numerous students studying Korean and Japanese in order to work in foreign companies’ branches in Ho Chi Minh City and Ha Noi capital. Finally, studying a language is also a hobby for many people, which helps them to feel at ease and encourage them to pursue their passions.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned arguments, it appears to me that learning a new language brings to people not only in traveling and job field but also in developing their skills as well as adapting to the changing of society.