It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

One necessary comprehension in the early stage of a child’s growth is conscience, which is distinguishing between the right and the wrong. As a result, punishment for learning these skills has been a controversial issue. In my perspective, I am of the opinion that there are more helpful measures to motivate children acquiring new practical knowledge rather than punishment.

There appear several explanations for the negative impact on children’s development, which used punishment as a way to educate them. First and foremost, juveniles living in a harsh environment with frequent scolds fail to develop fully about identities as well as spirit. In this specific age, especially infant, they may not understand much about the surroundings and need generally the instruction from their foster parents and guardians to guide them on how to behave properly. Using sanctions in these cases may possibly lead to some unexpected consequences such as anxiety or even the depression. Additionally, there are some kind of punishment related to severe actions could result in a serious vulnerability in a child’s mental and physical health. Furthermore, observing some bad images children may imitate exactly and become aggressive, which leads to bullying and violence in a learning environment in the future.

Regarding some disadvantages above, to help teenage youngsters to be aware of the right and the wrong, teachers and parents should first provide good role modeling in their own behavior. It is an important way to improve their images in children’s eyes and open more opportunities for them to follow the good manner. In addition, there is a variety kind of disciplines such as detention, withdrawal of privileges, and time – out. Making these ways in suitable situations may make a contribution to effective changes in children’s behavior. A good illustration here is if a child received a warning and lack of caring from their parents in a period of time, they may feel the difference and have a regret attitude for what they had done. Apologizing to someone they have hurt or picking up rubbish they dropped off are small actions but could stimulate the perception as social responsibility when they are mature.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, I firmly believe that grasping the negative influence of sanctions and having more suitable solutions without punishment to children plays an important role in their development of cognitive power and behavior in the future.