Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the contemporary world, there has been an increasing number of people living in a foreign country and consequently speaking a second language, leading to the opinion has been divided on whether or not this trend results to some serious problems in society as well as daily basis. In my perspective, I completely agree that inhabiting in another country instead of motherland may bring about several drawbacks.

First of all, in terms of society, citizens living in a foreign country may confront many issues. The conflicts of the traditional culture between native people and newcomers may occur, causing the uncomfortable feeling and an intensive atmosphere. As a result, people living in the host country may have a tendency to adapt to and change themselves to be suitable for the lifestyle there, hence their own custom from motherland may be faded and disappeared. Another noticeable fact is that immigration is likely to be a burden for the host country’s government in the welfare system, especially for unemployed people, the young, accompanied by the elderly one. In consequence, this issue has a negative influence on the national administration to take control of the crime rate such as robbery or drug abuse.

Regarding a number of practical misunderstanding, the distinct manner is what I put my priority in. For example, there has been a difference in the table manner between the Asian families and the European, forcing the Asian newcomers to learn a new way to use spoon and knife instead of chopsticks as usual when they live in the United Kingdom. Furthermore, the language barrier causes a reduction in working’s productivity. In terms of corporate life, by having insufficient comprehension from employer’s requirement, the staff may spend many hours finding out problems by themselves and are unlikely to reach their desired outcomes at work. Similarly, one illustration is with students studying abroad in the US without master English, they fail to acquire in-depth knowledge from lectures.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, I am convinced that dwelling in a foreign country results in several serious problems in the social and practical field. Therefore, it is essential to study the second language fluently before making the decision of living outside motherland, hence preventing people from any misunderstanding.