Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports for younger children)

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the improvement of quality in teaching methods and educational syllabus, opinions have been divided on whether or not students at high schools have volunteer activities as a compulsory part in their programmes. In my perspective, I am of the opinion that studying together with participating community service without paying help youngsters to develop fully in many beneficial ways.

There appear to be many reasons for doing voluntary jobs for the public should be compulsorily applied to student’s studying course. First and foremost, people who do unpaid community service may generally gain much the experience, which they may not have it before. A good illustration of this is if you teaching for younger children in orphans, you would have more practical knowledge and teaching aptitudes as well as presentation skills. Besides, working for a charity opens more opportunities for students with new tasks and roles, which would possibly assist them in securing a well-paid job in the future. Moreover, it is having chances of approaching and working many people from different walks of life such as the poor or the homeless that hopefully raise more their awareness in some challenging problems and their sympathy as well as humanity. Thanks to these activities, youngsters may also have a greater sense of social responsibility, hence improving the quality of long – term benefits in the community.

Notwithstanding the benefits, there are bound to be those who doubt this proposal. It is inevitable that parents would worry about their children if you do not have enough time for learning and acquiring academic knowledge in classrooms. Additionally, having access to many people with different situations may possibly have a negative effect on the process of shaping their identities. However, it seems that teachers play an important role in managing this curriculum effectively and balancing between studying and joining community services. Furthermore, there comes a time when foster parents or guardians should not shield their children from harsh realities and should encourage them to step out of their comfort zone.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, it is clear that doing volunteer activities serving for the community is necessary for student’s course, especially in high school.