Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A problem of modern societies is the declining level of health in the general population, leading to the divergence of opinion on some measures to tackle this worrying trend. While some people believe that installing a large number of sports facilities is the most useful solution to enhance public well-being, I am inclined to the view that there may have other better ways.

On the one hand, there appear to be some reasons for the functions of local sports centers that have a positive influence on people’s daily practices. It is undeniable that today’s sedentary lifestyle, as well as unhealthy eating habits, are more popular with the virtue of stressful working conditions. If there have some sports facilities in their local area, they may be likely to do exercise regularly because of its convenience, rather than spending much time in front of the screen every day. Furthermore, this kind of activities is suitable for people of all ages and genders, which might generally create more relaxing spaces and playgrounds that family members or neighborhoods could enjoy together.

On the other hand, there may be better ways of solving this problem. This could be explained by the fact that interest in sports is not universal and the limits of a person’s daily free time may possibly prevent them from joining some locally available sports centers. As a result, some people may consider this public exercise equipment as a simple remedy to release strain and they may not take it as part of their daily practicing habit, then the final purpose of this one fails to be obtained. Some alternatives should be taken into action such as imposing tax penalties on high-fat food products, tobacco, and alcohol, as excessive consumption of any of these makes a contribution to poor health. In addition to this solution, it can be seen that raising awareness of citizens on the drawbacks of a passive lifestyle as well as spending the public budget on organizing more free checking up health every six months for educational institutions and offices may bring many satisfactory results.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned arguments, it appears to me that exercise equipment, albeit having some benefits, maybe a narrow approach to attain the desired consequence in improving public health. People should be encouraged not only in physical activities but also in a healthier lifestyle with more support from governments in general.