Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary world, accompanied by the proliferation of technology, many governments concentrate on developing the economy, leading to the divergence of opinion on whether or not it is the most significant purpose. While a number of people believe that the administration’s highest priority is economic growth, I am inclined to the view that there are other concerns should be taken equally into consideration.

On the one hand, economic growth leads to several beneficial outcomes for many countries. Firstly, thanks to the investment of developing the economy, there are more job opportunities for employees, allowing citizens to earn living and have a higher living standard. For example, people in many European countries are having better social welfare than ones in developing countries. Additionally, the average income of labor increases, resulting in the higher national revenue that governments have by imposing taxes. Furthermore, this budget may be generally used to improve infrastructural and enhance the quality of transport systems as well as bridges. The availability of this may solve many impressing issues such as traffic congestion as well as natural disasters. Another point is economic progress broadens more chances for people to acquire wide knowledge due to international trade and cooperation, especially for the businessman.

On the other hand, there are other factors needed to take into account to ensure the sustainable development of a healthy country. In term of politics, the more stable it is, the more focus on the development of citizen’s life. A good illustration is people in Syria are suffering from the difficulties and shortage of food because of wars and the unstable political state. In addition, from the social science point of view, environmental concern plays an important role in the development of a country. For example, the pollution causes the depletion of natural resources such as fossil fuel and raw materials, which are one of the most influential factors on the developing nations’ innovation. Last but not least, ensuring social security and people to obey the rules are the responsibility of governments, encouraging people to work effectively and efficiently. In consequence, the combination of economic growth and the above concentrations would bring desirable results for a country’s environmentally sustainable development.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned discussion, it appears to me that economic growth, albeit having many advantages, should go along with equivalently different sorts of progress such as politics, environment, and social benefits.