Some people think that all universities students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The ways to orient a students to have a well-paid jobs in the future have been a controversial issue, leading to the divergence of opinion on the subjects that they need to study in their universities. While some opinion that students should limit their subjects on some helpful one such as science or technology, I am inclined to the view that they should have liberty at choosing their favorite subjects.

There appear to be some reasons for the choices of limited useful field studied in universities. First and foremost, learning in specific subjects that are necessary in the labor market may possibly open more job opportunities in student’s career path. One good illustration of this is students who graduated from science and technology universities with their excellent knowledge and research may have a well-paid jobs in suitable working environment due to the proliferation of technology. Additionally, orientating students making their choice on useful subjects which are completely potential provides abundant labor force, which solves the issues related to scare talents in some developing business fields.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned discussions, my view is that it had better that students should be allowed to make their own decisions on their preferred educational programs. Studying with highly motivation as well as passion may generally advocate students put much efforts and try their best to achieve high-colored results. As a result, they would be more aware of their responsibility for not only their learning progress but also their prospect to commit to community and society. Furthermore, with the rapid growth of cutting-edge technology and modern life, it is difficult to predict exactly the potential trend of field that students should register to study. In addition, each person would have their own strengths and ability to be good at some distinct aspects of life. If they study in diverse subjects, it could balance the demand of market for labors with high expertise.

In conclusion, for all arguments I mentioned above, it appears to me that the way to make decisions for some subjects in universities, albeit there are some potential ones that lead to wide job opportunities in the future, is suggested that learners have right to choose for a variety of subjects at their disposal. In general, orienting children from early stage to have them explore their strengths and find their preference play an important role in each person’s cognitive development.