Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is undeniable that the growing number of vehicles and global pollution problems has a significant impact on our daily life. International experts have proposed many solutions to tackle these issues. Personally, I disagree with a view that raising the price of petrol is the best way to alleviate the traffic volume on road as well as environmental problems.

There is a number of reasons why considering the increase in petrol price fails to be the best solution, especially in the long run. It is true that private car use is one of the main cause of exhaust emissions, which results in air pollution, global warming or greenhouse effect. However, higher petrol cost is not likely to limit the numbers of drivers so long due to the increasing transporting demand. The second reason is the influence of this policy on the cost of public transport. The raising on the cost of some popular public transport like bus, tram or taxi can generally lead to the inconvenience of commuters who get familiar with this.

On the other hand, I believe that international bodies may have various alternative measures which could be implemented to confront these issues. First and foremost, governments must allocate resources to the development of alternative energy sources and cleaner fuels, which used to power motor vehicles and machinery in factory production. In recent time, for example, the availability of electric cars would be a more effective strategy in improving air quality, especially in big cities and urban. However, traffic congestion will not be solved by changing the habit of private vehicles users. As of result, the second solution is improving the choice of public transport services available to travelers. One good illustration of this is the efficiency of sky trains and underground train systems in some developed countries are effectively reducing the traffics on roads. Long-distance train and coach services should be made attractive and affordable alternatives to driving the own car for long journeys.

Last but not least, as part of the wider effort to achieve sustainable development, international cooperation to share scientific knowledge and experiences should be a top priority. There are some debatable issues such as the exploitation of renewable energy or using advances in technology that supports policymakers some solutions to deal with traffic and environmental issues in their countries.

In conclusion, for the reasons I mentioned above, long-term traffic and pollution reduction would possibly depend on educating the citizens to use public transport more and on governments using public money to construct efficient systems and organize helpful programs.