Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary world, studying curriculum plays a significant role in shaping a student’s personality, leading to the divergence of the opinion on the importance of each subject. While a number of people believe that history is the most necessary subject to study, others say the more important ones are science and technology. From my perspective, I am of the opinion that learning each subject has its own benefits and may be considered equally in some convincing reasons.

On the one hand, having history lessons in classrooms has been completely important for learners in two main benefits. First and foremost, history, accompanied by historical figures, may have a positive influence on educating children about moral values as well as meaningful lessons. A good illustration is that in Vietnam, historic teachers are likely to instill in learner’s mind about an extremely difficult period of wars to prove the patriotism and valor of Vietnamese citizens. Therefore, children may be aware of the value of peace and social responsibility at the present. Furthermore, by being conveyed much knowledge about the past, students have a tendency to understand and associate with the previous generation. For example, after finishing a lesson about gender discrimination in the past, female students may become confidently and make a contribution to the various roles in community and society as a whole.

On the other hand, the rapid development economy along with the increasing numbers of scientific research nowadays lead to enhance the significance of studying science and technology. In terms of scientific subject’s roles, it is irrefutable that students having the chance of working in a chemistry laboratory may be possibly creative and active due to some experiments. As a result, by appropriately explaining the results of tests, students may develop their critical thinking as well as logical presentation skills. Additionally, regarding the proliferation of technology, it is essential to guide students on how to catch up with up – to – date news and take advantage of several smart platforms, hence improving their effectiveness in studying. For example, it is common that Vietnamese students today have a habit of using Google to search and filter their needed information due to its convenience and fast speed.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, it appears that history, science, and technology have been an irreplaceable factor in shaping a modern citizen’s personality with specific qualities. Therefore, taking those into consideration equally advocates a child’s development fully.