Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Primary education has always played a major role in building the foundation of knowledge. Students study various subjects to enhance their understanding of different areas of life. History is one of them, which provides us knowledge about our past. Some people believe that history must be taught in primary schools, whereas, others think that the priority should be given to subjects like Science and Technology. I will discuss both the views in my essay.

On one hand, this subject is essential to learn about the evolution of societies and the causes of change. Moreover, we also get to know about different cultures and dynasties prevalent worldwide. History compiles real-life stories that further motivate many people. It also educates us about the causes of the suffering we had in the past. This knowledge can help us avoid those mistakes in the future. We generally believe that one must not dwell on the past rather should focus on the present and future. But the roots of the present and future are always linked to the past. Hence, we cannot ignore the importance of knowing about the past to create a better future.

Certainly, history is beneficial to mankind. Nevertheless, the absence of its practical applications in today’s contemporary world has affected its popularity. Cramming dates and years of the past incidents kill the creativity of the learner. Today’s generation is focusing more on technological innovations for future developments. For that reason, subjects like history do not fit into the current education system. In addition, teachers use the conventional methodology to teach History. Consequently, the subject becomes boring and less participation.

To conclude, students often question the relevance of having a history class in schools. But they do not understand the intensity of change this subject can bring to our lives. Every subject has its relevance and contribution to our lives. Even though, in the age of robots, it is essential to study science-based subjects, in my opinion, the information about our culture and origin is equally important.