Some people work for the same organisation all their working life. Others think it is better to work for different organisations.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that individuals should continue to work for a single company throughout their career, whilst others disagree and opine that it is beneficial if one works for various companies instead. This essay disagrees that people should work for multiple organisations and it will discuss both viewpoints.

Staying in a firm throughout one’s entire career can be more beneficial than changing jobs as it promotes job security without them needing to worry about not being able to find a new job. It also allows employees to have an increment in remuneration on a yearly basis, whereas one might earn lesser when switching to a new job. A study by Harvard University on Michigan State in 2015 found that subjects who stayed in one company until retirement averaged a salary of 10% to 15% higher than those who worked for two or more companies. Those that worked two or more jobs throughout their careers faced unemployment for an average 1.5 years.

However, many disagree and feel that it is better if one works for several companies. This is because individuals might feel unsettled in a company or decide to have a career switch to pursue their interests. Despite this, when considering a change in jobs, they will need factor in their remuneration that they will earn in their new job and the possibility of career advancements. For instance, an employment agency did a survey on people that had a career switch. It was found that 60% of respondents felt unsatisfied with their new jobs as it was different from what they had expected it to be.

In conclusion, while working in one company throughout one’s career is beneficial due to job security, one might feel the need to change a job as they are unsatisfied with their current one. However, when doing so, many considerations need to be made and prior research need to be done. As a result, working continuously for a company can be clearly beneficial.