The world is experiencing a dramatic increase in population, which is causing problems not only for poor, undeveloped countries, but also for industrialised and developed nations. Describe some of the problems that overpopulation causes, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Nowadays, increasing population growth is certainly one of the greatest challenges facing the world. There are undoubtedly some adverse effects of this issue, which can be tackled through family planning and contraception education.

For low-income countries, over population leads to the spread of famine. When there are more people, the demand for food will definitely increase, which means that it is impossible for poor families to afford enough food for so many children. For example, the United Nations is warning that hundreds of thousands of people in northern Nigeria are suffering from acute malnutrition. Meanwhile, in wealthier countries, increasing population leads to a heavy burden on public services. As a country’s population increases, the government has to develop more transport systems, such as trains, and subways to serve more passengers. More schools and hospitals also need to be built to accommodate the fast-growing number of citizens. For these reasons, the budgets paid for other purposes such as economic growth are also affected, which inhibits the development of these countries.

To cope with the over population issue, the government can enact effective birth control measures and campaigns. This is because many people are unaware of the negative consequences of large families, and lack access to information about preventing pregnancy. In countries like Hong Kong, the government has launched the "Two is Enough" campaign, which aims to encourage couples to have two children as a limit. Besides, they also educated young families about some safe contraceptive methods, such as condoms and daily birth control pills. As a result, the total fertility rate in Hong Kong currently is 1.04 children per woman, one of the lowest in the world.

In conclusion, I would suggest that fertility control education and campaigns are effective strategies to cope with the issue of the excessive population across the world.