Some people think sports are important to society. Others say that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give opinion.

People have different views on the importance of sports. While some people argued that sport is merely a recreational activity for humanity, I personally believe that it plays a vital role in reducing the costs of healthcare services since playing sports helps enhance public health.

On the one hand, it is understandable that sports can count as a leisure activity because not everyone can become professional sports players. To be successful in their sports career, the sportsmen need to have innate talents and great perseverance, but the fact is that not everyone is so lucky to be endowed with these traits. Take football, the King of sports, as an example. Although millions of people around the world choose to become a soccer player as their permanent job, there are merely some of them having superb athleticism to become football legends, such as Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. Therefore, sports are simply regarded as activities for people to relax their mind and body during holidays.

On the other hand, I tend to opine that society can reap financial benefits from doing sports when the population becomes healthier. With the convenience of modern technology, more people are leading to a sedentary lifestyle, which negatively affects people’s health and causes many serious diseases. In other words, the government will have to allocate a larger budget on healthcare systems to take care of their unhealthy citizens. However, if the population is encouraged to do just simple sports, people will certainly become more physically active, helping them relieve stresses and tensions, and minimize the risk of suffering from many disorders. As a result, spending on public healthcare services will decrease significantly when the population is healthy.

All things considered, although sports are enjoyed mostly for recreational purposes, they still benefit society due to their contribution in saving national budgets.