Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years in the world that many cities now are "one big traffic jam". Do you think that this statement is true? What measure can government take to address this problem?

In this day and time, numerous towns in the world are facing problem of traffic congestion due to dramatic increment of car ownership over the past three decades. I think this notion is somehow true by observing the critical situation of traffic jam on the road. To address this problem, government should give permission to take immediate effective action and allure people towards public transportation.

21st century people are widely attracted towards materialism world in which willingness of own car is one of them. As a consequence, the demand of car is drastically increased in last few years due to which road cannot bear massive traffic jam by its limited capacity. Additionally, the competition between the merchants of multi-national company encourages people to buy car due to attractive schemes such as discount and payment on installment basis. Despite of familiar with problems of barriers in road, folks become ready to buy a car. For instance, the data of survey showed that, car ownership in cosmopolitan cities increased by 35% in this fiscal year.

This ever-growing problem cannot be easily eradicated by an individual. So, government should take responsibility to address the problem. It is necessary to develop comparatively widen road with distinct lanes for different purpose such as for cyclist and pedestrian users. Not only smart traffic signals but also alternative modes of vehicles with extra capacity should be applied practically. Furthermore, government should distributes licence to vehicle holders by examining the appropriate time which prompt to reduced a traffic. What's more, approval of vehicles should be given only on the basis of urgency by proper investigation by raising questionnaires like "Is any vehicles belong to him/her before applying for new one ?", such enquiries automatically helps to lower the rates of traffic.

In conclusion, although, car ownership creates excessive congestion but its benifits withdrawl its drawbacks by providing security and compensation on time to reach the destination.Also, government should take full responsibility and come with efficient and sustainable cure of the problem.