As children become adults, their social behaviour changes in some ways.

What are the main differences between young children’s social behaviour and that of adults? To what extent are the changes that take place good?

Although some people would argue that we don't change in any fundamental ways as we develop from young children to adults, I feel there are some marked differences in our social behaviour as we get older.

Firstly, most young children tend to express themselves much more openly than they do when older, showing great extremes of happiness and misery. However, when they are adults they learn to hide their real feelings. This can mean that children have very volatile relationships - for example, groups of youngsters will often fall out and row with each other at one moment, and then immediately afterwards they have mended their differences and are back as close companions. Some people say this change in behaviour is good, that showing extreme feelings is selfish and being a member of any community requires moderation of expression. Other people condemn this change, saying childish openness about feelings is more honest and as such, it should be valued. In many cultures there are proverbs which say something like 'truth comes from mouths of the very young', and adults sometimes lament the fact that they no longer feel things as deeply as they did when they were children. They regard this as a great loss.

In my view, it is a good thing if adults can retain some childlike qualities in their social behaviour throughout their life. I feel that, within reason, it is healthy to show feelings openly because it leads to stronger relationships. However, adults should always keep in mind the consequences of expressing what they feel the moment they feel it. They need to realise that sometimes saying what they feel is simply selfish and if it hurts others, then they should keep their thoughts to themselves.