Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care home or nursing home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend and give your opinion.

Nowadays, old age people are not taken care by their members in families , instead they are sent to care homes and nursing homes.this essay will show that this is a welcomed culture and can offer more care to old parents. it will first suggest that , well equipped nursing homes provide adequate care as a primary advantage followed by a discussion that sending them away from home can lead to depression as a disadvantage.

the main benefit sending old people to advanced nursing care homes is that they will be properly taken care of in every aspect, when children are busy with their working schedule . providing medications in a proper timings, regular health check ups and many more other facilities are available in nursing homes, so old parents will be taken proper care . a survey conducted by a group of professors from Cambridge universities , showed that more than 85% of young couples dropped their parents in home care and take them back when they are back from their work and all young couples are satisfied with the adequate care provided.

one possible drawback is depression, since there will be adjustment problem and trust issues, so all people are likely to suffer from mental illness . as old age people do not easily open up about their problems with strangers and their children will be very busy with their daily schedules , they hardly open up about their problems with their child , which can be very painful. group of psychologist from kings collage London 's data showed that, more than 75% of old age people staying in nursing home suffered from various mental disorders , out of which 50% suffered from depression.

Overall, it is very good idea to send old couples to care homes as they will be benefited in most of the aspect. in conclusion, nursing homes take proper care of elderly although sometimes due to busy schedule or various other reasons , old people suffer from depression.so in my opinion it is very much necessary that even we should take our time and listen to them and encourage them to speak about their trouble or worries.