Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the pastDescribe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television for children

Nowadays, most of the children are glued on their seats in an extended period watching the shows on the television. The introduction of cable TV have also increased the viewership of these youngsters giving them more channels to choose from. There are numerous outcome for this trend both positive and negative.

One of the perks of prolonged viewing is that children become aware of their surroundings. By tuning into the news they gained insight on what is currently happening. Another positive outcome is that they become knowledgeable by watching educational shows. The informations coming from the educational programs like National Geographic Channel and Discovery Channel may have widened their knowledge and made them more intellectual. In addition, television keeps the children entertained. Programs like Cartoon Network, Disney Channel and Nickelodeon are so amusing and entertaining for the children hence they learn to sing and dance and become active audience while watching the shows. There are also programs from the local shows which promote moral values such as respect, honesty, and the likes which in turn re-enacted by young minds thus they learn the importance of it.

On the other hand, the drawbacks of children having an exorbitant time watching the television is that it is time consuming. Children became idle because they are hooked into watching their favorite shows that they do not have time to actively participate in recreational activities nor have time to study. They are also prone to hurt themselves. Children tend to follow what they watch and hear from the box. For example, action movies are being shown and stunts are being followed by younger audiences resulting to accidents. In addition, some movies promote violence and because not all children are guarded by their adults they end up watching those violent scenes. It can be instilled in their fresh minds and may end up projecting those violent behaviors at home or at the school. Furthermore, what they hear from the box like profanities coming from the mouth of the actor or actress are being followed by young audiences since they do not know the meaning nor can distinguish whether it is good or bad.

In my opinion, the excessive time spent by the children in watching television programs has its pros and cons. However, it should be regulated by the adults. Restrictions and parental controls are necessary so children can only watch shows in a limited time that can help them to enhance their knowledge and skills and those that can instill values.