Choose three of the following media and discuss their advantages and disadvantages. Identify the most effective one:

Books, Comics, TV, Film, Theatre, Radio

It is clear that there are many different types of media for communicating information, each with a unique set of functions. While there are much to discuss about, in this essay, I will only compare the advantages and disadvantages of three main media channels: books, radio and TV, and focus on identifying the most effective one for the following types of information used in a daily basis: news, academic and general training.

Firstly, TV and radio can be used most in transmitting the news, mainly because they are easily accessible and quick at updating urgent, important information. However, the disadvantages are that televisions are not pocket-sized carryalls, and some radio channels are only permitted to transfer news under some certain hours.

Secondly, for academic purpose, books are considered the most commonly used media. Even though it takes a lot of time to launch a book, the time and effort put into the process makes the information become more accurate and reliable, thus serving best for academic researches and studies. On the other hand, books have the physical form disadvantage, meaning that they are large and heavy, therefore unable to carry around. However, this factor can now be compensated by e-books, which is a combination of traditional books with modern technologies.

Last but not least, mentioning about the general training purpose, it is said that television is the most effective one, due to the fact that it has good visuals that can help audience learn faster than through reading plain textbooks. Information such as cooking tutorials or handicrafts can reach audience faster through the illustration of irresistably attractive visuals. But with that said, spending too much time on TV can cause many harms, especially on our health if we become addicted to television.

To sum up, all media have their own distinguished pros and cons, therefore, it cannot be concluded which media is the most effective since each one serves for different communication purposes and for various types of information.