Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world.

Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

As people are increasingly aware of the current environment situation and the scarcity of energy resources, solar energy has become a more popular choice in households across countries. While there are many reasons for this trend, I will only discuss two main points and further display the advantages as well as drawbacks of the use of solar energy.

To begin with, one of the main reasons why people start using more solar energy is because of the pollution awareness. Since it is considered a renewable resource, it can serve as an alternative source of energy for fossil fuels, which has contributed significantly to the air pollution. Furthermore, by using solar energy, inhabitants can practice sustainable consumption lifestyle. In this way, society can benefit from it and will move faster towards sustainable development. For example, in some developed countries, governments have already established policies to encourage households to use more environmentally friendly energy like solar energy. As a result, air pollution has been reduced greatly and more benefits associated with the economy have been noticed as well.

On the other hand, it cannot be denied that there are some existing drawbacks on the use of solar energy. One of which may include the limited applications available. Because the energy is relatively new and have not become common in general, its uses in day-to-day activities may still need time to develop and become more widespread. Another disadvantage might be associated with the cost of obtaining the resource. Compare to other types of non-renewable resources, solar energy might be considered rather expensive and therefore may limit the use in households on a daily basis.

In conclusion, while there are many advantages and drawbacks listed above, I still believe the use of solar energy will become more and more important in the near future.