Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As the world is gradually developing towards globalisation, more uncommon languages die out every year. Some people may even suggest that it would be easier if there are only several languages remain. I completely agree with this opinion due to several reasons, particularly the communication understanding aspect relating to this.

First of all, while I agree that we should respect the cultural diversity, however, if there are fewer languages in the world, people can easily communicate their thoughts and ideas to their foreign partners without having to rely on the help of translation devices. They will not have to worry about being misunderstood and as a result, no conflicts or cultural differences will arise during negotiations or discussions. People can find the common ground easier when they communicate by the same language.

Second, if there are only few languages remain, it might be easier to learn and to be fluent at those languages as well as saving time and effort. This is also one criteria to become globalized citizens and to adapt with the rapid change of the world. For instance, even though the majority of Chinese people speak Mandarin, it is a requirement that they learn another language when doing business with their foreign counterparts, and English would be a useful one to start with.

In summation, preserving cultural uniqueness through languages is a good thing, however, it would be more beneficial and practical if fewer languages are available, as it would create effortless communication flows among inhabitants of the world.