Teenagers are spending an increasing amount of time on the internet, and this is having a negative effect on their social skills. Do you agree or disagree?

The internet is undeniably considered to be an important part of our social lives. teenagers, especially, are believed to have spent increasingly too much time online, which results in their social skills are negatively affected. However, in this essay, I am going to point out the two main reasons why I disagree with this opinion.

First of all, the internet serves as a communication tool to keep in touch with our family and friends. Now that it has replaced traditional letters and phone calls with texts, it has helped teenagers develop new social skills. In other words, those skills have not gone away, they are just replaced by some other skills. teenagers have learned to connect with peers through social media, online interactions,... Because of the internet, people can manage to maintain a long-distance relationship without having to worry about the time and distance.

Second, the internet also helps creating new networking channels, thereby expanding our personal networks. If back in the old days, teenagers usually only made friends in their neighborhoods and schools, today, they can reach out to practically anyone on the planet within just a click of a button. Not only does the internet helps connecting people from all over the world, it can also bring people closer together.

All in all, the development of the internet is inevitable, and so does the trend of using it among young people. Instead of having skeptical view on the negative effect that the internet may have on youngsters, maybe we should focus more on its advantages to see a better side of the story.