In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case ? What can be done about this problem?

In many countries, a significant number of advances have been made regarding the agriculture industry. Despite those changes, many people around the world still suffer from hunger. While there are a number of causes relating to this matter, several solutions can be brought up to solve this problem.

To begin with, one of the main reasons many people still go hungry is because they cannot afford to buy the food. This is especially true for low income countries, where the economic growth rate is very low, which in turns can cause high unemployment rate. Because people do not have a job, they are lack of financial capability to meet the basic needs and ensure their well-beings. In other words, they do not have enough money to buy food and as a result, those people go starving. Countries in Africa like South Sudan or Kenya are notable examples for this case. Due to the undeveloped economy that has been the major cause to this problem, most people in those countries have to live under harsh conditions and there is little they can do to improve it themselves.

Nevertheless, the situation can still be improved if appropriate measures are taken to tackle this problem. One of the most important solutions is the required changes in the government policies and regulations, especially those of low-income countries. Governments should develop and maintain a care program for people that are currently suffering from hunger. Furthermore, they can also create more opportunities by providing more jobs, hence increase the possibilities of improving their living conditions whilst raising the growth rate of the economy.

All in all, there are several reasons why many people in the world still go hungry in spite of the development in agriculture. Regardless, if this problem can be tackled in an appropriate way, the situation can definitely be improved considerably in the near future.