In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while other consider it as valuable working experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Children in many countries have already started to involve in different kinds of paid work. While there are opinions that against this idea, some people would suggest the benefits of working from an early age such as gaining valuable working experience as well as taking responsibility. Personally, I can understand the two opposing point of views. However, I would lean more towards the idea that using child labor is completely inappropriate and should not be encouraged whatsoever.

First of all, I appreciate the view that it is wrong to have children involve in doing paid work. In certain cases, it might be regarded as child abusement, as children are not illegible to be working. Exploiting young workers with minimum wages required would be against the law and working ethics. For instance, there was a famously known case in India about a factory that was accused of using child labor as their main human resource. Unsurprisingly, the business had to be closed down and the owner was sent to jail and had to pay compensation fees for the families of those young workers.

Second, I also understand why some people might view this idea as an opportunity for children to gain valuable working experience. To begin with, by working at a young age, children can be more discipline, responsible and independent. They can learn how to equip themselves with necessary skills in order to prepare for future working environment. Furthermore, they can grow faster and be more mature compare to their fellow peers. If children did not go to work, they would have to start from scratch when becoming adults and entering working fields. It would take more time and effort for them to reach the level of maturity than the one who has worked since they were little.

In summation, there are several reasons to explain why people may view paying children to work is inappropriate or bring certain valuable benefits. Nevertheless, I would support the first view more and would definitely not encourage any behaviors that involve exploiting child labor.