Some people think that people should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both views and give your own experience.

Educating children to become good citizens is presumably thought to be the role of their parents. However, some people might suggest that it should be done by the schools. Personally, I can understand both of these opposing point of views. I consider the roles of parents and the educating systems to be equally important in the development of children.

On the one hand, I appreciate the view that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. The majority of a child's early stage of development is spent with their parents. Therefore, it is obvious that the personalities and characteristics of a child is formed gradually through the interactions and experience they have had with their parents. For example, if the parents are protective and demand certain rule within the household, the children will grow up to be respectful and well-behaved towards them. In contrast, those who are nurtured in a more relaxed, flexible way will likely to become more independent and self-reliant.

On the other hand, I understand why some people may view schools as an important factor in the education of children. Teachers can provide basic knowledge in a wide variety of fields for students from science-related subjects to social ones. This in turns will help students expand both of their academic and social knowledge, become more equipped for the future jobs. In addition, schools are compared as miniature societies, meaning that children can build new relationships and interact with different people from various backgrounds when going to schools. By doing so, children will familiarize themselves with different social contexts and thereby becoming more adaptable to the society.

From my perspective, the contribution of the family and education systems are equally essential, each with unique and different functions and roles. While parents can help nurturing children's personalities, schools can be useful in providing foundation knowledge on a wider scale. It is therefore important to combine both factors as they are greatly essential for the development of children.

In summary, a child's growing stage depends heavily on the contribution of both family and education environment. By helping to balance between the two roles, we can help children to become better citizens of the society.