Climate change is now an accepted threat to our planet, but there is not enough political action to control excessive consumerism and pollution. Do you agree?

As the century draws to the close, environmental concern such as climate change has become of paramount importance. Although we have ample documentation about the extent and significance of these problems, this realisation has not yet dawned on most of our political leaders. Therein, a paradigm shift in political action can lead to profound changes over the causes of these problems.

most of the ecological woes are systemic, which means they are interdependent and interlinked. For instance, stabilising climate change will only be possible when pollution is reduced worldwide. it is pollution which causes global warming which in turn destabilise the environmental temperature and precipitation rates which as a whole contributes to climate change.

The demand for more and more products in the market implies to the massive scale depletion of resources. If more resources are required, the level of deforestation, soil erosion and so on can go up. Not only consumerism cause an immense demand on the nature but it also puts the future generation in a crisis of lack of natural products.

In my opinion, to control climate change a sustainable approach has to be adopted, to ensure a balance over consumerism and all other global concerns. it is, therefore, important that the government bodies should implement a scrutinised approach towards the issues of pollution and excessive consumerism.

so, it can be concluded that a political transition to a new paradigm which follows the norms of strict environmental ethics can refrain the biosphere from degradation. Furthermore, sustainable development can satisfy the current societies needs without diminishing the prospects of future generation.