Communication is less between family members of late. Do you agree or disagree?

To what extent do you agree?

Over the past decades, the weakened communication among members in a typical family has translated to an impediment on societal development. It is widely believed that such seismic shift in family communication is a corollary of the advancement of technology and economy. The aim of this essay is set to explore how the reasons derived from these two spheres hinder the communication.

To begin with, it is intuitively obvious that the economic growth is perceived as a hindrance of communication, in particular to late family members. In fact, with the augmented workload accompanied with national prosperity, parents who are also the major societal workforce often have to dedicate more time to their rituals, resulting a shortfall of communication with family members. For instance, recent empirical research from the Family Planning Committee ascertained that the average hours of children’s communication with working parents have been halved over the previous decade. Seen in this light, the lengthened working hours undermine the family bonding by lessening the opportunity of communication.

Meanwhile, another pivotal factor to remember is that the technological derivatives tend to impede communications in families. What this means is the cell phone has a high tendency to stray our late family members from a valueable dinner that drives regular communication. Evidently, having interviewed by the Social Harmony Association, 70% children admitted that, rather than enjoying a vigorous communication with parents, they remain engrossed to the screen on having a family dinner. Consequently, distracting by these electronic devices, communication is unlikely to be sustainable between parents and children, and late members eventually estrange themselves from family life.

In conclusion, there is undeniable evidence that the economic development and burgeoning of smartphone are impeding the communication channels within an ordinary family, especially with the youth. Given such changes are irrevocable, it is predicted that this phenomenon of lessened communication in modern families will become a norm in foreseeable future.