Companies spend millions each year advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can often encourage people to want and buy things that they do not need. What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

There are myriad ways for companies and corporations to promote their products to people, and millions of dollar have been poured into advertising via online, in magazines or on billboards, to sell any merchandise as quickly as possible. Consumers may have a strong desire to buy these advertised products which they do not not need. In this essay. I will discuss some of the positive and negative impacts of this trend of consumption on the society.

On the one hand, the upsurge of popularity of one product can significantly increase the sales of it, which is a good thing, because it is beneficial for the selling company and the current economy of that specific country. For example, a 3-in-1 juicer that any housewife in the world would be thrilled to have it in their kitchens. Furthermore, humans are unpredictable and our needs are diversified and carefully categorized. We are successively in need of new products which can satisfy us in all aspects. Advertising may help people to be able to own things that they have not acknowledged of before, catering to every particular taste of humans.

On the other hand, adverts are shown everywhere, in the back of toilet doors, on billboards or on the big TV screen in the middle of Times Square. It could be the merits of a certain shampoo or a cereal brand, and these frequent appearances might urge us to buy things that are redundant. Who would need one more square shaped bottle of shower gel when they already have ten of them with different shapes at home? Moreover, the thought of another shopping spree tempt us to buy more which may cause us big debts in our credit cards.

In conclusion, there are both upside and downside of consumerism. Personally, I think it we should only buy commodities that we need with feasible prices.