Nowadays, young people admire sports stars though they often do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the recent coming year, adolescents idolize sports stars even though some perform bad examples. In my opinion, I still agree that it still generate a positive effect overall.

Sports idols create good impression on youngster in many ways. Firstly, being sporty which means people have to maintain a healthy lifestyle and making healthy choices every time on their daily diets. Secondly, young people draw inspirations from their idols, since some stars do charity work on public services, this greatly impact on the society in an upward development. They tend to replicate what their idols do and this is beneficial for the public. Finally, high competency often appears in sport games, especially team sports such as: football, volleyball, basketball, etc. This motivates team-play character, enhances team work ethic and they are good aspects when considering for jobs with future employer.

However, some minor influences on the society are still rising because of the adverse images traversed by several sport idols. The usage of drugs and adrenaline enhancement in world sports is widely recognised via the news and internet for the betterment of competitor's performance. For example, Lance Amstrong's scandals is on the news for some years and it greatly damages his image on his fans by the way he uses doping injection on purpose. Furthermore, by concentrating only on sports, other skills such as mental and cognitive abilities gradually decrease. This somehow affects people's scores in school curriculum and this do not seem valuable for later appraisals and recruitment. Finally, not everyone is good at sport so other stars in various fields should also be worldwide tributed.

In conclusion, youngsters follow their sport idols is a good thing and I think it is a positive development for the society overall.