The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Present a written argument to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the follo

During the last decade, it is reported that the number of obese children has been rising significantly by 20 percentage to be precise. In this essay, I will give some main reasons for this issue to be happening and also the final outcomes.

Let us start by looking at the causes of the increasing obesity rate in young children. First of all, the prevalence of fast food TV commercials has triggered people's inner desire to consume more junk food. Not only these types of food are affordable, but also fast food stores are placed everywhere in rural and urban areas, so it will be easy for people to grab a bite at any time of the day. For example, McDonald's and KFC introduce their new lunch set for kids to be taken on the go while parents are driving their kids to school. Moreover, the advancement in technology also a factor which leads to the situation of a rising in the number of overweight children. In the past, the quality of food used to be higher than nowadays because of the shortage of land for agricultural purpose. The same acreage now can only culminate, for instance, ten tomato trees while 20 or 30 can be grown in the past with the same nourishing conditions. This issue will lead to further degradation in food quality, higher the price for organic foods and higher the amount of artificial nutrients and non-beneficial fats in nowadays' food. Consequently, every household would need to make a careful decision with their meal plan.

While the percentage of overweight children is rising, the risk of cardiovascular collapse or gout also increases too. Children are getting weaker so their immune systems are not as good as of those children's 20 or 30 years ago. Furthermore, unhealthy children tend not to be excel in school, hence they were not able to make contributions to the society or their families in later life. In general, obesity is one of the main factors that could destroy a whole generation.

In conclusion, there are many reasons which lead to the overweight problem in western society. The dire consequences are in a clear vision and we must do something about it to keep our children out of misery.