Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Rivalry between individuals and between organizations can be seen as an essential factor of development, which is sorely needed for a sustainable society. This essay will discuss how the competitiveness influences humans and therefore prove that it is truly a beneficial character.

To make it clear, it is obvious that adverse effects would occur when establishments or people compete. For example, when two agricultural companies try to outweigh the other, they might harm the local environment as a result of intensive farming. However, as we can see in this occasion, harmful effects only happen when people compete inappropriately.

Meanwhile, throughout the history, competitiveness actually generated innovation to the world. In an attempt to take leading positions, students got smarter, and then they became high-quality intellectual labours. It was also the rivalry between Samsung and Apple that brought to the invention of cutting-edge smartphones. In the light of such developments, it is obvious that the human being could not have achieved the modern society nowadays if there was no competitiveness between people.

Additionally, when it comes to the business world, competitiveness plays an important role in maintaining stability to the national economy. Without rivalry between enterprises, one may take the predominance and therefore manipulate the domestic market. It can control the price of its product while customers cannot help buying from it. Take Apple again as an example, the company used to dominate others in smart tablet area, which allowed the company to sell its iPad with extremely expensive price, until Samsung joined the competition and therefore made iPad price phase out quickly. Consequently, by competing fairly, the market will be more equal to the customer, in which they are provided a wide range of selection.

In conclusion, if used in a good way, competitiveness will create novel innovation to the society, and also maintain an equal market to the customer. Therefore, under my consideration, this is a positive trend.