Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

Despite beneficial effects to the health and to the environment, the popularity of bicycle is phasing out in the society. This essay will disclose reasons that contribute to this change, and provide solutions to encourage this transport.

There are several factors that underlie the decreasing prevalence of bicycle in daily life. Firstly, as more people tend to live further from the central areas, many employees have become commuters. In other words, they have to travel distantly to work; therefore, vehicles like car or commuter rail seem to be the suitable vehicle. Additionally, urban cities at present usually deal with high stage of air pollution, which makes cycling unsafe for use on daily basis.

In order to increase use of bicycle, government can simply impose regulation that restrict other private vehicles. For example, authorities would introduce a ban of motorized transports in certain areas, and make bicycle the only possible choice there. However, such top-down legislation may cause unwanted consequences and it does not actually encourage cycling habit in the long run.

In my opinion, the better way to support cycling habit is to generate complimentary benefits for daily cyclists. The government should invest in construction of infrastructure dedicated only for bicycle users. Authorities should also build free bicycle keeping places on the street. In many parts of the world, for example in the Netherlands or Singapore, due to such convenient facilities, bicycle riders now account for the majority of their population. Besides, governmental establishments should educate urban citizens about the advantages of cycling every day. This would motivate people who are in search of a healthy life, therefore can be a supporter to infrastructure improvement in encouraging cycling habit.

In conclusion, in light of living far from work and pollution in metropolitan areas, the popularity of bicycle is decreasing. However, by legislation and facility improvement, this environmentally friendly habit can be recovered again.