Completing university education is though by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Education and professional career are interdependent. Many people opine that completing education can help you a fetch a good job, however there are others who counter this view and claim that professional experience and soft skills are more important.

University Education is meant to provide theoretical knowledge in the subject which we are interested. After completing graduation, when we apply for jobs, this knowledge comes very handy in explaining what we know about our area of interest. Although we couldn’t showcase our practical exposure, knowledge we gather during our curriculum can be enough to get our first job. Also, many big Industries during their recruitment process short list candidates based on educational qualification, since this is the best way to segregate the right applicants from numerous applications they have received. It is during these phase that having an education qualification gives an edge over others.

However, after we get our first break it all depends on how we work in the organisation and what we learn, that helps us to succeed further in our career. Our second job or promotions depends not only on the level of education but also on our professional experience and what kind of skills we have developed during our tenure in the organisation. Many prominent business leaders like Elon Musk of Tesla have regularly emphasised on experience over education also, many successful business founders like Mark Zukerburg of Facebook are college dropouts.

In Conclusion, I do believe university education can help us to get our first big break of our career, however it if very important after that how professionally we develop ourselves to succeed. And even though we may not have an educational degree, but with good practical knowledge and willingness to learn we can still get our desired job.