Computer technologies are more accessible and cheaper, as the result, more adults work at home and children study at home.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Since the advent of technological gadgets, computers has facilitated humans in various aspects of life. They are not only more affordable but also give individuals chance to work and study from home. Therefore, I believe this is an optimistic tendency in the new era.

On the one hand, those who are constantly exposed to computers may encounter some physical and mental problems. Health problems such as near-sightedness and obesity are the common consequences of sitting and staring at the screen for a long time. However, it is just an excuse to blame for computers when they lead such a sedentary lifestyle with little or no workout. Another drawback could be the lack of communication which might be the cause of isolation and autism. This idea seems to be unrealistic because the Internet has bridged the gap of physical distance and let people stay updated any time.

I think the pros of having a computer are far more its cons. Firstly, thanks to the Internet access, both employees and students are able to keep up with their work and study, especially during the breakout of Covid-19. If the computers were less accessible and more pricey, we would not imagine how collapsing the world would be. What is more, the Internet world has opened up a new opportunities for freelancers who are not willing or able to work in the office. They now can earn money and doing housework at the same time so do the school children.

In conclusion, although some detrimental effects of working and studying in front of the screen are unavoidable, I would argue computers have changed out lives in a positive way.