Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that people today have been more and more dependent on computers in their work and daily life. While I agree that the computer plays an irreplaceable role in our modern life, I believe that it is not the most important machine which has ever been invented.

On the one hand, we can see the powerful influence of this tool in every aspect of our life. When we go to work, the first thing we might have to do is to open our computer, checking and typing e-mails. Whenever we want to save any long information, all that we have to do is doing some clicks and typing some words, which took a tremendous amount of time and space if done traditionally. In what way has the computer changed our entertainment world? Before the invention of computers, we needed a lot of CDs, heavy and space-consuming players to play music or watch our favorite movies and of course, just at home. Nowadays, we can enjoy all that we like whenever and wherever we want. Thousands of songs and moives are stored in just one computer. Computers also revolutionalise teaching and learning activities. For example, teachers nowadays can make their lessons much more vivid and interesting without much time consumed by using visual aids and software available in their computer.

Although computers are extremely necessary in our life, other inventions are just equally important because they are the foundations for all other inventions. For example, without the birth of electricity, no modern machines, including computers can run. Another example is printers which rocketed the spread of knowledge. This enables people of all classes in the society to access and share scientific information, which is one of prerequisite conditions for many important inventions later.

In conclusion, while the invention of computers can be seen as a revolution in the techological age, the computer itself cannot be replaced above many other inventions in recent centuries.