Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The best invention of the last hundred years is believed to be computers. In my opinion, I completely agree that computers are an important invention.

To begin with, computers have become essential part of life for some people especially students and most workers. Exchanging information has become a lot easier thanks to computers because with the click of a button a mail or a text is sent. A number of documents or videos related to work are made with the help of computers. Additionally, there are some students who are glued to their computers daily writing essays and getting some sort of classwork done. Therefore, the invention of computers is an essential part of our century.

Similarly, computers are used for entertainment purposes. There are multiple types of entertainment which can be found on the computers like watching movies, gaming or sharing videos or pictures with friends. For example, after a long day outside, some people enjoy being on their couch while watching Netflix on their computers, at the same time, others prefer to play games or even socialise with their peers. Computers can also do simple things like calling similar to the phones nowadays which makes them more user-friendly.

To conclude, I believe we have come a long way since the stone-age. Computers play big role in the life of most people, therefore, most of the things people do is connected to computers in some way or another as well as benefiting the people by making their life easier by smooth, straight and fast forward connection.