Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages, therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Humanity has been learning foreign languages throughout the history. There is an assumption that nowadays command of foreign tongues became useless due to the fact that digital technologies can translate various texts in seconds. I completely disagree with this statement and suppose that in the era of globalization people are supposed to know foreign languages.

Firstly, nowadays computers can accurately interpret an endless amount of information by a click of the mouse. Therefore, people cannot acquire a fluent level of proficiency in every language in the world since human's memory is considered short. It means that there is no necessity to learn several foreign tongues and become a professional interpreter owing to the fact that technologies will supersede humans in this sphere. For example, according to the Russian academy of science in 2020 due to the technological progress only 50% of citizens know foreign languages, whereas in 2000 this number comprised 65%. Thus, computers translation is regarded as faster and more efficient than human’s.

However, I suspect that in the modern globalizing world people ought to learn foreign languages. This is because nowadays due to the development of tourism, international market and politics humanity is supposed to be linguistically flexible and speak one of the international tongues. Thereby, every language is constantly developing, so computers are not able update their vocabulary without human’s aid and it means that a profession of “alive” interpreter is also demanded. For instance, on international conferences politicians never apply for technologies to translate to translate the speech of an official representative of another country, thus this work is being done by professional interpreters. In other words, the command of foreign languages is essential and computers cannot replace human’s skills.

In conclusion, although translation done by digital technologies is fast and accurate, I believe that people should acquire a high level of proficiency in foreign languages.