People are now living in a “throwaway society” where things are used for a short period of time and then thrown away.

What are the causes of this and what problems does it cause?

The question of the appropriateness of using disposable things has always been relevant. Nowadays, it is becoming popular to abandon reusable products for the sake of short-term ones. This essay will discuss the major reason of the trend of premature throwing away and propose viable issues that can be caused by this widespread phenomenon.

One of the biggest trigger for predominance of “throwaway society” lower prices for short-lived items. This means that reusable products are made from higher quality and more complexly structured materials, the production of which takes more resources. Therefore, prices for more stable and durable things are much higher due to the complexity of manufacturing. For example, to make a disposable cup, there is a need for cellulose from paper and a little polyethylene so that the cup does not get wet, while a reusable cup needs much more plastic, plastic structure fixers, paint and stabilizers. In other words, cheap materials give rise to cost-effective products whose price makes disposable products more preferable.

One of the common consequences of using disposable items is harm to the environment. This is because This is because disposable products need to be made in large quantities, more short-lived materials are needed, more substances will have to decompose, more toxins are released when decomposed into the soil and air. For instance, Delivery Club, one of the main players in the food delivery market in Russia, delivers 2 million orders per month, and each order up to a kilogram of plastic, which will decompose for a hundred years, releasing toxic substances into the air, soil and water. Thus, long-term fixtures will reduce the amount of toxic materials produced.

This essay shed light on the cause of why people prefer single-use products and offered a feasible problems that can be arise by displacing the multi-use things in everyday life.