As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time.

Do you agree and disagree?

Nowadays, the advancement of science and technology is having significant impacts on human beings in every aspect of life, especially learning foreign language. It is said that communicating or translating foreign languages will become quickly and simple with a computer so learning them is not necessary. From my perspectives, I do not agree completely with this opinion because of a number of reasons.

To explaining my opinion, translation on computers is only suitable for common communicative texts, not conveying the exact meaning of academic texts. When using language translation applications on computers for English communication such as Google Translate, we cannot deny its accuracy, speed and convenience for partner. However, the application of computers to translate scientific and academic languages only makes us more time consuming. Therefore, we still need to learn a foreign language in order to use them more effectively.

On the other hand, learning a foreign language not only wastes time but also provides us with fascinating knowledge about the culture and citizens of the country. If your passion is discovering cultures all over the world, you need to study the language of the country to facilitate cultural research and exchange. For example, because of an extreme interest in British - American culture, I chose to major in English language at the Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam as my stopover. Although I have not really mastered this language, it also partly helped me expand my acquaintance of two outstanding cultures.

In short, in spite of convenience, we should reduce misusing computers to understand new vocabulary. Instead of that, discovering oversea languages system is beneficial for our ability to expand understanding as well as great opportunities in the future.