The costs of medical health care are increasing all the time. Governments are finding it difficult to balance the healthcare budget. Should citizens be totally responsible for their own health costs and take out private health insurance, or is it better to have a comprehensive healthcare system which provides free health services for all? Discuss both views

Policymakers today are grappling with how to best balance allocations on healthcare as medical costs have been constantly on an increase. Some side with an all-encompassing, free-of-charge healthcare system while those who decry it herald premium health insurance. The purpose of this essay is to discuss both sides of this contentious argument and then explain why I agree with the former.

Opponents of universal healthcare point to a combination of reasons. First and foremost, it does not seem right for governments to cover all their citizens’ medical expenses given other areas might be in dire need of subsidies. If governments insist on providing free health services for the citizenry, there will likely be an imbalance in the way the state fund is allocated to other issues such as national security or education. Another compelling reason is that there are tangible benefits to owning private health insurance. To illustrate, the average person on a publicly-funded health program typically has to wait in line for check-ups, diagnoses, treatments, and surgeries, while a privately-funded patient can be quickly admitted and receive premium services.

Nonetheless, I am in favour of governments providing their citizens with free healthcare access. The primary reason is that less affluent members of society may find themselves unable to afford costly pharmaceuticals and operations in life-threatening conditions. To this end, healthcare coverage would help them avoid an economic burden, better recuperate, and later lead a more healthy life. Furthermore, it is the government’s responsibility to take care of its citizens’ well-being. With government subsidies, everyone can have equal access to quality treatments, irrespective of socioeconomic class, and, in the aggregate, this constitutes a healthier, better society.

In conclusion, despite the perceived conveniences of privately funded health insurance, I believe that free healthcare should be implemented for the collective good of all citizens. Governments, therefore, should invest more in maintaining and developing medical facilities and infrastructure to enhance public health.