Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Globalisation has made the world a global village. Modern technology and inginious methods of communication between people acorss far and near places has made this a reality. At the same time, what people purchase has changed over the last few decades.

It was thought that what people bought was mainly influenced by their local culture and beliefs. However, as more and more people are exposed to international cultures,fashion and cuisines, this trend has gradually shifted. Nowadays people like to acquire products of international labels locally. As a result many of these international branded stores can be found in all the continents regarless of whether it is a developed or developing country. As long as there is a demand,which is commonly seen in the developing world, these shops will continue to prosper.

In my personal experience, I know of many women who aspire to own a branded Italian made luxury handbag like a Gucci, Prada or a Dolce & Gabana . They will goto any lengths to acquire one even though they can't actually afford them. This attitute has brought about vanity amongst the women of present society.

Another example would be the younger generation wanting to be like and follow fashion and lifestyle trends of the rich and the famous. This comes at a cost to the parents as well as problems to the society.

Therefore, as much as international products being available locally, I believe it comes with it's fair share of negativity. Being brand conscious, vanity, extravagance and living above one's means are all the negative developments of having access to anything that money can buy.

In my opinion even though it is a good thing to have access to international brands locally, one should always know their limits and live within their means at all times.