Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, similar products can be brought anywhere in the world, and as a result, countries are becoming more like each other. Social media and affordable shipping costs are major contributors to globalization. Some people point out that it is a positive development for countries while others argue that it is a negative development. In my opinion, it has several negative impacts and I will express my view with examples.

There are several reasons why I believe there are several disadvantages of having similar products. Firstly, it erases our cultural identity. This is because products being sold on a global scale must have the appeal to attract everyone. For example, there is a decline in the popularity of traditional food because oversea consumers may not enjoy it. Moreover, it discourages local businesses from making profit. This has a negative impact on the growth of our economy and causes less employment since many people are consuming oversea products. Additionally, it impacts our climate. Since transportation being improved, and shipping costs being reduced, having products delivered transnationally would bring an increase in air and water pollution. Therefore, there is an increase in harmful oxides damages both our health and the environment.

On the other hand, there are some people who assert that a positive development in our economies. They feel that it helps economies specialize in what they are best at. Countries only produce products that are cost-effective resulting in less failures. It also optimizes competition and helps companies innovate new. Despite this, there is a less variety of products in the market and it must be imported from other countries.

In conclusion, from my viewpoint, countries becoming more alike have negative developments. It has several factors contributing to pollution and sustainability of culture in the future.