The government’s investment in arts, music, and theatre is a waste of money. Government should invest these funds in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Art helps showcase our creativity and identity to the mass. Despite this, many people point out that investment in arts, music, and theater is a misuse of cash and governments ought to put these assets in public services. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the notion, and in this essay, I will support my views with examples.

There are several reasons why I disagree with the idea. Firstly, the investments in arts is gainful for the nation since they are economic drivers. The demand for an inventive workforce is generally high in the business world, however, there is a short supply of art graduates. If the money spent on improving art schools, it will increase creative graduates. Joblessness and school dropouts will diminish if there is a rise in creative industries, so they can secure jobs on their passion in the future. Moreover, arts, music and theatre help preserve our cultural identity and enables us to pass it down to future generations. Additionally, arts help exhibit the world that of our cultural background and advance cultural tourism. Governments earn tax revenue from tourism and this can help improve living standards in the long-term.

On the other hand, some assert that money should be funded to public services. They feel that arts don’t give advantages to an individual like the advancement in education or healthcare. Advances in healthcare and education helps create a healthy and educated workforce. Despite this, they neglect the fact that public funding can often be small, resulting in public service mismanagement.

In conclusion, from my point of view, funding for arts is essential for the development of a country. Not only does it promote cultural tourism, but it expands industries and allow people to follow their dreams.