Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

After popularity for video games rose in the 1980s, people chose to spend their leisure time inside rather than outside. Additionally, the advances in technology made electronic devices more portable and affordable, which contributed to our generation spending time indoors. There are some that claim that games are beneficial for educational purposes, whereas other people argue that there are several drawbacks to it. Although games are enjoyable to kill time with, I believe the drawbacks outweigh the benefits, and in this essay, I will support my views with examples.

There are several reasons why I agree video games harm people. To begin with, games are designed with a complex storyline that makes it hard for the audience to turn away, thereby making it extremely addicting. Because of this, players are always trying to complete the game or achieve higher scores and as a result, they may face problems regarding their performance in school or work. Secondly, video games can reduce the interaction a person has with the outside world. It may damage their social skills and an increase in aggression because of the violence shown. Moreover, the health risk increases for gamers, due to the lack of time spent on exercising. Obesity, visual impairments, and RSI are common problems that could potentially harm players in the future.

On the other hand, some people assert that video games are beneficial for the development of the brain. They feel that it encourages creativity. People playing games tend to think differently and can creatively tackle problems. By contrast, exposing people to games can increase rage and psychological problems.

In conclusion, from my point of view, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. The individual will face several mental or physical problems after a prolonged period of playing games.