With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the trend?

The advancements of technology in the 21st century has significantly contributed to many of our day-to-day lives, including the medium we use to read. Looking back at the last 30 years, people used to buy books from bookshops, convenient stores, and stationery shops. However, nowadays, we can download digital formats of these books with a click on our devices. Some people claim that e-books are a step towards a brighter future, whereas others do not. The arguments on both sides of this issue will be examined carefully in this essay.

On one hand, e-books have a plethora of merits. Firstly, the most prominent feature of e-books is that it reduces our carbon footprint. If the money spent on cutting trees declines, it will help maintain habitats and allow rich biodiversity to thrive in forests. Secondly, climate change will be eliminated. The soil fertility will be maintained, fewer erosion will occur and sufficient oxygen will be supplied to all. Finally, carrying e-books on overseas is easier because of its lightness. It allows us to carry a variety of books on one device, providing space to put other necessities on our bags.

On the other hand, there are several demerits to e-books. To begin with, buying an e-book is expensive, resulting in a reluctance of people purchasing an e-book. Furthermore, opponents argue that eye-related problems would arise if a long time is spent in front of a screen. In addition to this, there are many piracy issues. Authors no longer receive proper credit and money because their works can be freely accessible via the internet.

In conclusion, from my perspective, the advantages outweigh all the disadvantages associated with e-books. They will be a key to success in the future because of the positive impacts it has on the environment.