Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums are the epicenter to preserve and showcase our cultural identity, traditions, and history. Some museums are unrestricted to the general public, whereas some require a fee to enter. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the idea of charging for admissions and in this essay, I will support my view with examples.

There are several reasons why I agree with charging people for museums outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, the main advantage of charging admissions creates funding for the museum. Surviving on government funds without charging people, would make it hard to maintain and create new and exciting exhibits. Moreover, museums are not the main priority for governments, most of their tax revenue proceeds to improve the healthcare or the education sectors, and due to this, there would only be a small budget to improve its facilities. Additionally, charging fees improve the quality of the museum, and as a result, this attracts potential visitors and tourists. A positive trend can be seen in the tourism industry in the country.

However, on the other hand, some people assert that museums should be free for all. They feel that it promotes every class of people in the country to learn more about their background. It helps poor people, passionate about arts to visit. By contrast, it wouldn’t be able to restrict certain people (for example beggars) from entering.

In conclusion, from the above-mentioned reasons, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Charging for admission not only help create a state-of-the-art museum but also generates tourism and educate people about their culture.