University education should be restricted to the very best academic students, rather than being available to a large proportion of young people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To survive the rapidly changing environment of the modern 21st century, it is vital to have a university degree. Despite this, some people point out that rather than being available to a larger proportion of people, education should be limited to the academically talented students. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the notion and in this essay, I will support my views with examples.

There are many reasons why I disagree with restricting the number of people seeking university education. Firstly, everyone has the right to access higher education. Discrimination for students who had a bad academic performance wouldn’t help them realize their full potential. Moreover, the contemporary competitive environment strongly demands people to get a higher education degree to acquire professional specialization. A degree helps people land on a stable job with good pay and promotes job satisfaction. Additionally, having high and stable employment generates more GDP in a country. Without many graduates, the country faces a risk in the loss of a skilled workforce, and the loss of creativity so that the economic development of a country would slow down.

On the other hand, some assert that education should be limited to the very best preforming individuals. They feel that if tertiary education is accessed by all, the quality would deteriorate whilst the quantity would increase rapidly. Companies would only hire the very best graduates, leaving the remaining surplus unemployed. By contrast, for example, making education accessible by all would help a secondary sector economy transition into a tertiary sector economy, as education helps develop and produce new jobs in the country.

In conclusion, from my point of view, university education should be accessible by everyone. Not only does it make an individual skillful, it also helps develop and raise the living standards of the economy.