Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think is a positive or negative development?

In the last few decades, globalization has become much more popular because global brands have created strong advertising and transportation systems have improved. therefore, every product can be found easily in every country. However, even though it has good improvement, it causes some disadvantages. In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of buying the same products and try to draw some conclusion.

The main positive improvement is that this situation can provide confidence to tourists while eating food. For example, most of them can hesitate to try eating local foods and prefer generally restaurants which are known very well such fast food restaurants. That's why they can feel more comfortable themselves and be happier.

Turning to the other side, one of the problems causes culture loss. In other words, each country has own culture and tradition and wants to protect some special features. For instance, Starbucks which is USA coffee company causes to lose local coffee culture in Turkey and many Turkish people prefer to drink it to Turkish coffee. Also, other fast food companies based on abroad change our eating habit rather than consuming Turkish cuisine.

Another drawback is that local business cannot compete with this global brand and have to close their stores. therefore, this situation affects the country economy and unemployment rate. Meanwhile, the number of tourists who is willing to experience new things tend to decrease their attractions because the same brands can occupy the local market. they can not prefer to visit these types of countries.

To sum up, buying the same products which are everywhere in the world have both advantage and disadvantages. some tourists prefer to buy the products that they already know. However, it causes to lose local culture and business. Personally, I believe that this situation has some disadvantages outweigh positives.